Principal Investigator

Prof. Stefan Howorka

Email: s.howorka@ucl.ac.uk

 

  • 2016 to date: Professor of Chemical Biology, Department of Chemistry, University College London

  • 2009-2016: Assoc. Prof. / Reader in Chemical Biology, Department of Chemistry, University College London

  • 2005-2009: Assist. Prof. / Lecturer in Chemical Biology, Department of Chemistry, University College London

  • 2001-2004: Group Leader, Biotech incubator Upper Austrian Research GmbH, Linz, Austria

  • 1999-2001: Postdoctoral Fellow, Texas A&M University System Health Science Center, Prof. Bayley

  • 1995-1999: PhD, University of Vienna, Austria / Research stay at The Texas A&M University System Health Science Center

  • 1988-1995: Diploma Study of Chemistry / Biochemistry branch (MSc), University of Vienna, Austria 

Postdoctoral Researchers

Dr. Jon Burns
 
Email:
jonathan.burns@ucl.ac.uk
Senior Postdoctoral Researcher and Associate Research Fellow for Prof. Gabriel Waksman
 
Interests: 
DNA nanotechnology, nucleic acids chemistry, nanopores
Dr. Yongzheng Xing
 
Email:
y.xing@ucl.ac.uk
 
Interests: 
DNA nanotechnology, molecular devices, smart materials
Dr. Rachel Dickman
 
Email:
rachael.dickman.13@ucl.ac.uk
UCL EPSRC Doctoral Prize Fellow
 
Interests: 
Peptide synthesis and modification, organic synthesis
Education:
MChem Medicinal Chemistry, University of Manchester, 2009-2013
PhD, University College London, 2013-2018
Jointly supervised with Prof. Alethea Tabor

PhD Students

Dr. Adam Dorey
 
Email:
a.dorey@ucl.ac.uk
 
Interests: 
DNA nanotechnology, nanopores, electrophysiology
Education:
PhD, University of Southampton, 2014-2018
Joanna Louise Donnelly
 
Email:

joanna.donnelly.15@ucl.ac.uk

 
Interests: 
Organic synthesis, nucleic acid chemistry, medicinal chemistry
 
Education:
MChem Chemistry, University of Southampton, 2011-2015
 
Jointly supervised with Dr. Jon Wilden
 
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
Patrick Marthijn Arnott
 
Email:

patrick.arnott.15@ucl.ac.uk

 
Interests:
Nucleic acids chemistry
 
Education:
MChem with Medicinal Sciences, University of Southampton, 2011-2015
 
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
Daniel Offenbartl-Stiegert
Email:

daniel.offenbartl-stiegert.15@ucl.ac.uk

 
Interests: 
Nucleic acids chemistry, organic synthesis
 
Education:
MRes Organic Chemistry: Drug Discovery, University College London 2015-2016
BA Chemistry, University of Cambridge, 2012-2015
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
Conor Lanphere
Email: conor.lanphere.16@ucl.ac.uk
Interests: 
Organic Synthesis, membrane biophysics, nanopores
 
Education:
MSci Chemistry, University of Bristol 2012-2016
Katya Ahmad
Email: katya.ahmad.16@ucl.ac.uk
Interests: 
DNA nanotechnology, membrane-nanopore interactions, computational chemistry/biology
 
Education:
MSci Chemistry, Queen Mary University of London 2011-2016
Jointly supervised with Prof. Peter Coveney
Helena Philpott
Email: helena.philpott.17@ucl.ac.uk
Interests: 
Enzymology, Nanotechnology, Organic Chemistry
 
Education:
BSc Biochemistry with Industrial Experience, University of Exeter 2013-2017
Jointly supervised with Prof.  Helen Hailes
William Whitehouse
Email: w.whitehouse.17@ucl.ac.uk
Interests: 

Nanomedicine, Gene therapy, Cell biology

 
Education:

MRes Chemical Biology, Imperial College London 2015-16

MSc Analytical Chemistry, Birkbeck University of London 2013-14
BSc (Hons) Chemistry, Reading University 2009-12

  • LinkedIn Social Icon
Sioned Fôn Jones
Email: sioned.jones.17@ucl.ac.uk
Interests: 
Nanotechnology, Microscopy, Biophysics, Cell biology
Education:
MChem Chemistry, University of Liverpool, 2013 - 2017
Jointly supervised with Prof. Ulrike Eggert
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
Jonah Ciccone
Email: ucbtlci@ucl.ac.uk
Interests: 

DNA Nanotechnology

Nanopore sensing

Synthetic Biology

Education:

University of Leeds

M. Biol Biochemistry

2011-2015

Master Students

  • LinkedIn Social Icon
Alexia Rottensteiner
(MSc Chemical Research)
Email: alexia.rottensteiner.18@ucl.ac.uk
Interests: 
Biochemistry, Biological Chemistry, DNA nanotechnology
Education:
BSc Chemistry, University of Innsbruck 2014-2018
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
Shiyi Anna Wang
(MRes Drug Discovery)
Email: shiyi.wang.18@ucl.ac.uk
Interests: 
Organic & medicinal chemistry 
Education:

BA Natural Science - Chemistry, University of Cambridge, 2015-2018

Research Assistants

Elena Georgiou
Email: elena.georgiou.17@ucl.ac.uk
Interests:
DNA nanopores, Nucleic acids chemistry
Education:
MSc Applied Analytical Chemistry, University College London (2017-2018)
Bsc (Hons) Chemistry, University of Reading (2014-2017)

© copyright Howorka Lab 2015 all rights reserved | website design by Matthew Chin

Maintained by Prof Stefan Howorka and Daniel Offenbartl-Stiegert

University College London, Department of Chemistry

 20 Gordon St, London WC1H 0AJ