Principal Investigator

Prof. Stefan Howorka

Email: s.howorka@ucl.ac.uk

 

  • 2016 to date: Professor of Chemical Biology, Department of Chemistry, University College London

  • 2009-2016: Assoc. Prof. / Reader in Chemical Biology, Department of Chemistry, University College London

  • 2005-2009: Assist. Prof. / Lecturer in Chemical Biology, Department of Chemistry, University College London

  • 2001-2004: Group Leader, Biotech incubator Upper Austrian Research GmbH, Linz, Austria

  • 1999-2001: Postdoctoral Fellow, Texas A&M University System Health Science Center, Prof. Bayley

  • 1995-1999: PhD, University of Vienna, Austria / Research stay at The Texas A&M University System Health Science Center

  • 1988-1995: Diploma Study of Chemistry / Biochemistry branch (MSc), University of Vienna, Austria 

Postdoctoral Researchers

Dr. Jon Burns
 
Email:
jonathan.burns@ucl.ac.uk
Senior Postdoctoral Researcher and Associate Research Fellow for Prof. Gabriel Waksman
 
Interests: 
DNA nanotechnology, nucleic acids chemistry, nanopores
Dr. Yongzheng Xing
 
Email:
y.xing@ucl.ac.uk
 
Interests: 
DNA nanotechnology, molecular devices, smart materials

PhD Students

Dr. Adam Dorey
 
Email:
a.dorey@ucl.ac.uk
 
Interests: 
DNA nanotechnology, nanopores, electrophysiology
Education:
PhD, University of Southampton, 2014-2018
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
Conor Lanphere
Email: conor.lanphere.16@ucl.ac.uk
Interests: 
Organic Synthesis, membrane biophysics, nanopores
 
Education:
MSci Chemistry, University of Bristol 2012-2016
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
Helena Philpott
Email: helena.philpott.17@ucl.ac.uk
Interests: 
Enzymology, Nanotechnology, Organic Chemistry
 
Education:
BSc Biochemistry with Industrial Experience, University of Exeter 2013-2017
Jointly supervised with Prof.  Helen Hailes
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
William Whitehouse
Email: w.whitehouse.17@ucl.ac.uk
Interests: 

Nanotech, Synthetic Biology

 
Education:

MRes Chemical Biology, Imperial College London 2015-16

MSc Analytical Chemistry, Birkbeck University of London 2013-14
BSc (Hons) Chemistry, Reading University 2009-12

  • LinkedIn Social Icon
Sioned Fôn Jones
Email: sioned.jones.17@ucl.ac.uk
Interests: 
Nanotechnology, Microscopy, Biophysics, Cell biology
Education:
MChem Chemistry, University of Liverpool, 2013 - 2017
Jointly supervised with Prof. Ulrike Eggert
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
Jonah Ciccone
Email: ucbtlci@ucl.ac.uk
Interests: 

DNA Nanotechnology

Nanopore sensing

Synthetic Biology

Education:

M. Biol Biochemistry, University of Leeds 2011-2015

  • LinkedIn Social Icon
Elena Georgiou
Email: elena.georgiou.17@ucl.ac.uk
Interests:
DNA origami, DNA nanotechnology
Education:
MSc Applied Analytical Chemistry, University College London 2017-2018
Bsc (Hons) Chemistry, University of Reading 2014-2017
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
Alexia Rottensteiner
Email: alexia.rottensteiner.18@ucl.ac.uk
Interests: 
Biochemistry, Biological Chemistry,
DNA nanotechnology
Education:
MSc Chemical Research, University College London 2018-2019
BSc Chemistry, University of Innsbruck 2014-2018
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
Catherine Webley
Email: catherine.webley.19@ucl.ac.uk
Interests: 
Biophysics, Drug-protein interactions,
Medicinal chemistry
Education:
MChem Chemistry with Drug Discovery, University of Strathclyde 2015-2019

Master Students

  • LinkedIn Social Icon
Ahmed El Ashram
Email: ahmed.ashram.20@ucl.ac.uk
Interests: 
Biological Chemistry, DNA Nanotechnology, Enzymology, Green Chemistry
Education:
BSc Chemistry, University of Edinburgh 2015-2020 

© copyright Howorka Lab 2015 all rights reserved | website design by Matthew Chin

Maintained by Prof Stefan Howorka and Alexia Rottensteiner

University College London, Department of Chemistry

 20 Gordon St, London WC1H 0AJ